CSR Guidelines

When more and more companies realize their impact on the society, the numbers of instruments and guidelines to measure, evaluate, improve and communicate CSR have also increased. Here are the Top 5.

UN Global Compact

Launched in 2000, the Compact addresses 10 principles in environment, human rights, workers rights and anti-corruption. The Compact is non-binding and voluntary. It promotes development through good corporate citizenship. Joining the Compact, the corporate agrees and shares with the Compact principles. The Compact unites global principles with local networks to mainstream the 10 principles in business activities around the world.

Global Reporting Initiative (GRI)

This non-beneficial organization build in 1997 has pioneered sustainability reporting. Integrating consultation and practices from thousands of companies, NGOs and trade unions, the third Sustainability Reporting Guidelines (G3) were published in 2006. It promotes the communication of actions taken to improve economic, environmental and social performance, the outcome of such actions, and future strategies for improvement. It’s very useful to companies working on code implementation. GRI has even developed sector-specific guidelines, including financial services, electric utilities, mining and metals, and food processing.

OECD Guidelines for Multinational Enterprises

The guidelines feature recommendations from governments to companies and are a comprehensive CSR tool. The guidelines cover all the major areas of business ethics, including employment and industrial relations, human rights, environment, information disclosure, combating bribery, consumer interests, science and technology., competition, and taxation. The guidelines are non-binding, but OECD requires each member state to appoint a National Contact Point to promote the guidelines.

Social Accountability 8000 (SA 8000)

Published first time in 1997, SA 8000 is the first auditable certification international standard in CSR. It’s compatible with quality, environment and health & safety management systems. The main elements in SA 8000 are child labor, forced and compulsory labor, health and safety, freedom of association and right to collective bargaining, discrimination, disciplinary practices, working hours, remuneration and management system. It’s to ensure basic rights are respected within the supply chain of companies and industries.

ISO 26000- Guidance for Social Responsibility

ISO issued the guidance in 2010, and expand corporate responsibility to social responsibility for any kinds of organizations. The core subjects are organizational governance, human rights, labor practices, environment, fair operating practices, consumer issues, and community involvement and development. ISO 26000 is not a management system standard for certification purposes. But those who want to follow the guidance must fulfill the 7 principle of social responsibility: accountability, transparency, ethic behavior, respect for stakeholder interests, respect for the rule of law, respect for international norms of behavior and respect for human rights.